Digital Postcard No. 3: The FWAA’s 1965 All-America Team Reply

In 1965, “My Fair Lady” starring Rex Harrison won eight Academy Awards, including Best Picture … Julie Andrews won Best Actress honors for her performance in “Mary Poppins” … The Astrodome, the “Eighth Wonder of the World”, opened … The World’s Fair was held in Flushing Meadows, N.Y. It closed in the fall after having financial problems … Sandy Koufax pitched a perfect game against the Cubs … Gas went up to 31 cents a gallon, but bread was steady at 21 cents a loaf.

For the first time, all the final college football polls were released after the bowl games were played. Good thing. Michigan State, Arkansas and Nebraska all finished the regular season 10-0. All three lost bowl games, with Alabama beating the Cornhuskers. Alabama was the Associated Press (writers) No. 1 team. Michigan State won the United Press International (coaches) vote. The two shared the FWAA vote. USC halfback Mike Garrett was the Heisman Trophy winner, and Tommy Nobis from Texas claimed the Outland Trophy. Plenty of big names dotted the 1965 FWAA All-America team: Steve Spurrier (Florida), Johnny Roland (Missouri), Floyd Little (Syracuse), Clinton Jones (Michigan State), Jim Grabowski (Illinois) and Donny Anderson (Texas Tech).


With an opportunity to win the national championship, unbeaten Arkansas was a heavy favorite over a 7- 3 LSU team. Joe Labruzzo, who rushed for 69 yards on 21 carries, scored both Tiger touchdowns in the second quarter. LSU’s defense buckled down and shut out the Razorbacks in the second half to complete the stunning 14-7 upset. Arkansas’ 22-game winning streak came to an end on the first day of 1966 in the Cotton Bowl.

1965 FWAA Selectors

Bob Hoobing, Associated Press (Boston)

Smith Barrier, Greensboro Daily News

Jesse Outlar, Atlanta Constitution

Bob Broeg, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Si Burrick, Dayton News

Jim Scott, Berkeley Gazette

Mickey Herskowitz, Houston Post




Digital Postcard No. 2: The FWAA’s 1956 All-America Team Reply


(Ed. Note: This is the second in the series of digital postcards commemorating 75 years of the FWAA All-America Team.  The first FWAA All-America Team was published in 1944 during World War II and is the second longest continuously published team in major-college football.)  

In 1956, milk was selling for 97 cents a gallon…The stock market rose to 499…The minimum wage topped out at $1 an hour…With Charlton Heston cast as Moses, the movie Ten Commandments premiered on Oct. 5…. RCA sold 90,000 color television sets…Elvis Presley recorded his first pop single, Heartbreak Hotel…. And smash hit My Fair Lady opened on Broadway.

The FWAA All-America Committee also released a team packed with stars, including Iowa tackle Alex Karras, who later would star on television and in the movies after a professional football career. Ohio State lineman Jim Parker won the Outland Trophy in 1956, but Karras would take it a year later. The 1956 FWAA team included eight backs and six of them would go on to careers worthy of being elected into the College Football Hall of Fame: John Brodie (Stanford), Jim Brown (Syracuse), Paul Hornung (Notre Dame), Johnny Majors (Tennessee), Tommy McDonald (Oklahoma) and Jack Pardee (Texas A&M).

Hornung claimed the Heisman Trophy that season (1,066 votes) in a close vote over second-place Majors (994 votes) and third-place McDonald (973) despite the fact Notre Dame finished with a losing record (2-8). Hornung is still the only Heisman Trophy winner to play on a losing team the year he won the award.

The national team of the year, however, was McDonald’s Sooners, who were on the way to a 47-game winning streak under Coach Bud Wilkinson that wouldn’t end until 1957. FWAA All-America center Jerry Tubbs was a stalwart on that powerhouse Oklahoma team that claimed the FWAA’s Grantland Rice Trophy, symbolic of the national title, for a second straight season.

Go to to see the entire list.

The Cotton Bowl Tie:  Syracuse’s Jim Brown would be the featured back in the Cotton Bowl on Jan. 1, 1957. He nearly put the Orangemen in the win column. He rushed for 132 yards and scored three touchdowns, but TCU prevailed, 28-27. Brown was named one of the two Most Outstanding Players in the game along with TCU tackle Norman Hamilton, another FWAA All-America that season.

Your 1956 FWAA All-America Team Selectors:
Joe Sheehan, New York Times
Furman Bisher, Atlanta Journal
Jack Horner, Durham Herald
Jack Clowser, Cleveland Press
Volney Meece, Oklahoma City Oklahoman
Flem Hall, Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Bill Leiser, San Francisco Chronicle

Digital Postcard: 1944, The First FWAA All-America Team Reply

This is the first in a series of digital postcards celebrating 75 years of the FWAA All-America Team presented by the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic. The first FWAA All-America Team was published in 1944 during World War II and is the second-longest continuously published team in major-college football. The Cotton Bowl Classic announced a new partnership with the FWAA this year to sponsor the FWAA All-America Team and help promote and profile the annual team, including the weekly distribution of these digital postcards. For a full list of each of the FWAA All-America Teams, go to

In 1944… Gas sold for 21 cents a gallon. Bread cost nine cents a loaf. The Stock Market was at 152…Future singing star Diana Ross was born…Going My Way was named Best Picture…D-Day, the Allied invasion of Normandy, proved to be the turning point in World War II. The Missus Goes Shopping aired as an early TV series…Navy bomber pilot Joseph P. Kennedy Jr., oldest brother of future U.S. President John F. Kennedy, was killed in action during a mission in the European Theater.

The 1944 FWAA All-America Team had a strong military influence, including Army’s Mr. Inside (Doc Blanchard) and Mr. Outside (Glenn Davis), offensive backfield stars on Coach Red Blaik’s powerhouse West Point team that would finish No. 1 in the major polls. Also, in that backfield was Les Horvath, a graduate student in the Ohio State dental school program who was asked back on the Buckeye roster. Horvath claimed the Heisman Trophy that season as the Buckeyes finished unbeaten. A fourth notable player on the first-team was Oklahoma A&M back Bob Fenimore.

All told, Ohio State, Army and Navy each had three players on either the first or second teams. Georgia Tech’s Frank Broyles was on the second team. He would later go on to a College Football Hall of Fame career as a coach at Arkansas. Currently, there are nine people on the inaugural FWAA All-America Team who are members of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Catch a Glimpse of the Army duo

The Cotton Bowl Tie: Frank Broyles later coached four Arkansas teams in the Cotton Bowl– in 1961, 1965, 1966 and 1976– and finished with a 2-2 record. His 1964 team (1965 Cotton Bowl) defeated Nebraska, 10-7, and won its only national championship (FWAA) Grantland Rice Trophy) to date.

Your 1944 FWAA All-America Team Selectors:

Wilfrid Smith, Chicago Tribune

C.E. McBride, Kansas City Star

Bert McGrane, Des Moines Register

Bill Leiser, San Francisco Chronicle

Charles Johnson, Minneapolis Star Journal

Francis J. Powers, Chicago Daily News

Raymond Johnson, Nashville Tennessean

R.C. Woodworth, Purdue University