Digital Postcard No. 12: The FWAA’s 1990 All-America Team

Ed. Note: This is the 12th in the series of digital postcards commemorating 75 years of the FWAA All-America Team.  The first FWAA All-America Team was published in 1944 during World War II and is the second longest continuously published team in major-college football.) 

In 1990, “The Simpsons” made its television debut … 42-year-old George Foreman knocked out Gerry Cooney in two rounds … Larry Bird’s streak of 71 made free throws ends … Pete Rose spent five months in federal prison for cheating on his taxes … George Steinbrenner steps down as Yankees owner … Jerry Lewis’ 25th Muscular Dystrophy telethon raised over $44 million … “LA Law” won an Emmy Award … “Goodfellas” starring Robert De Niro, Joe Pesci and Ray Liotta is released.

A national title shared by Colorado (writers’ poll) and Georgia Tech (coaches’ poll) gave the impetus to the formation of the Bowl Coalition … The Buffaloes (11-1-1) won the controversial “Fifth Down Game” over Missouri when they were mistakenly given an extra play which enabled them to beat the Tigers … FWAA  All-America, BYU quarterback Ty Detmer, won the Heisman Trophy and the Outland Trophy went to Miami’s Russell Maryland … Colorado’s star was running back Eric Bieniemy … Georgia Tech’s only All-American was defensive back Ken Swilling … Notre Dame was represented on the FWAA All-America Team by defensive lineman Chris Zorich, linebacker Michael Stonebreaker and kick returner Raghib Ismail.



Nobody dreamed there would be that much distance between No. 3 Texas and No. 4 Miami. A Hurricane defense anchored by Outland Trophy recipient Russell Maryland and linebacker Maurice Crum allowed “The U” to blow the Longhorns out of their own backyard, 46-3. Quarterback Craig Erickson threw for 272 yards (17 of 26) and four touchdowns to lead the assault. Texas fumbled twice and quarterback Peter Gardere was intercepted three times – one of which was returned for a touchdown.

1990 FWAA Selectors

  • Lenn Robbins, The National
  • Dan Foster, Greenville News
  • Gary Long, Miami Herald
  • Paul Borden, Arkansas Gazette
  • John Hadley, Freelance
  • Bob Hammel, Bloomington Herald-Times
  • Dick Rosetta, Salt Lake Tribune
  • Gene Wojciechowski, Los Angeles Times
  • Bill McGrotha, Tallahassee Democrat