Digital Postcard No. 3: The FWAA’s 1965 All-America Team

In 1965, “My Fair Lady” starring Rex Harrison won eight Academy Awards, including Best Picture … Julie Andrews won Best Actress honors for her performance in “Mary Poppins” … The Astrodome, the “Eighth Wonder of the World”, opened … The World’s Fair was held in Flushing Meadows, N.Y. It closed in the fall after having financial problems … Sandy Koufax pitched a perfect game against the Cubs … Gas went up to 31 cents a gallon, but bread was steady at 21 cents a loaf.

For the first time, all the final college football polls were released after the bowl games were played. Good thing. Michigan State, Arkansas and Nebraska all finished the regular season 10-0. All three lost bowl games, with Alabama beating the Cornhuskers. Alabama was the Associated Press (writers) No. 1 team. Michigan State won the United Press International (coaches) vote. The two shared the FWAA vote. USC halfback Mike Garrett was the Heisman Trophy winner, and Tommy Nobis from Texas claimed the Outland Trophy. Plenty of big names dotted the 1965 FWAA All-America team: Steve Spurrier (Florida), Johnny Roland (Missouri), Floyd Little (Syracuse), Clinton Jones (Michigan State), Jim Grabowski (Illinois) and Donny Anderson (Texas Tech).


With an opportunity to win the national championship, unbeaten Arkansas was a heavy favorite over a 7- 3 LSU team. Joe Labruzzo, who rushed for 69 yards on 21 carries, scored both Tiger touchdowns in the second quarter. LSU’s defense buckled down and shut out the Razorbacks in the second half to complete the stunning 14-7 upset. Arkansas’ 22-game winning streak came to an end on the first day of 1966 in the Cotton Bowl.

1965 FWAA Selectors

Bob Hoobing, Associated Press (Boston)

Smith Barrier, Greensboro Daily News

Jesse Outlar, Atlanta Constitution

Bob Broeg, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Si Burrick, Dayton News

Jim Scott, Berkeley Gazette

Mickey Herskowitz, Houston Post