National Football Foundation to host FWAA Past Presidents’ Dinner in Atlanta

i6 and diDNA join the NFF as presenting sponsors of the event.

The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today it will host the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) Past Presidents’ Dinner for a seventh consecutive year, which will take place Jan. 5 in Atlanta, the site of the Jan. 8 College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship between No. 3 Georgia (13-1) and No. 4 Alabama (12-1).

“There is no organization more committed to college football than the FWAA, and we are proud to show our support by hosting this special tradition again,” said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. “The members of the FWAA, and especially the past presidents, represent the top writers in the country, providing fans all around the country a front row seat to the action as well as a behind-the-scenes look at the game. It’s a privilege to support this annual celebration as a show of our support and appreciation for their passion and hard work.”

The FWAA Past Presidents’ Dinner serves as the kickoff event for the writers covering the CFP National Championship, and the event includes a visit from CFP Executive Director Bill Hancock and the display of the iconic gold CFP trophy. i6, a leading ticketing design and packaging manufacturer, and diDNA, a technology company that helps publishers optimize their digital content, have partnered with the NFF as presenting sponsors of the event.

“College football fans rank among the most passionate of all the sports around the world, which completely aligns with our vision,” said Rodney Moore, Director of Sales for West Virginia-based company i6. “Showing our support for those who cover college football provides us a poignant way to acknowledge the role that the writers play in expanding interest in the game… because after all, Memories Matter.”

“Media outlets represent an important market for us, so it’s natural for us to support the men and women providing the content,” said diDNA Chief Financial Officer Bill Lutzen. “The FWAA Past Presidents’ Dinner brings together many of the best writers in the country, so it’s a real honor for us to be in the room with them, and not just from a business perspective but as fans too.”

Founded in 1941, the FWAA consists of journalists, broadcasters, publicists and key executives who cover college football. The FWAA’s efforts include advocating for appropriate game-day access and operations, bestowing several major awards and selecting an All-America team.

“We are extremely appreciative of the support from the NFF, CFP, i6 and diDNA,” said FWAA Executive Director Steve Richardson. “The Past Presidents’ Dinner provides a special opportunity for the FWAA to bring together the leaders of our organization. It is a cherished tradition, which is truly appreciated by our membership.”

The relationship between the NFF and the FWAA stretches back to the 1940s when both organizations where founded. Currently, the organizations partner on the FWAA-NFF Super 16 Poll, a weekly ranking of the teams playing the Football Bowl Subdivision. The FWAA also announces the finalists for the FWAA Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award as part of the NFF Annual Awards Press Conference each December in New York City.

About the Football Writers Association of America

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game day operations, major awards and its annual All- America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at or 214-870-6516 or visit

ABOUT The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame

Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl “Red” Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include Football Matters®, the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, The William V. Campbell Trophy® presented by Fidelity Investments, annual scholarships of more than $1.3 million and a series of initiatives to honor the legends of the past and inspire the leaders of the future. NFF corporate partners include Delta Air Lines, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, New York Athletic Club, Pasadena Tournament of Roses, PrimeSport, the Sports Business Journal, Under Armour and VICIS. Learn more at