Clemson’s Tony Elliott wins Broyles Award

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announces Tony Elliott, co-offensive coordinator and running backs coach at Clemson, as the winner of the 22nd annual Broyles Award.

The 2017 Broyles Award finalists included:

Auburn – Kevin Steele, Defensive Coordinator

Clemson – Tony Elliott, Co–Offensive Coordinator, Running Backs

Oklahoma – Bill Bedenbaugh, Co–Offensive Coordinator, Offensive Line

UCF – Troy Walters, Offensive Coordinator

Wisconsin – Jim Leonhard, Defensive Coordinator

Last year’s Broyles Award winner was Brent Venables, defensive coordinator for Clemson. The Broyles Award honors college football’s top assistant coach. The award was established in 1996 to recognize legendary head football Coach Frank Broyles. Coach Broyles had a track record of producing some of the most successful assistant coaches in college football history.

Winners from the previous five seasons were not eligible for the 2017 Broyles Award. For a full list of previous nominees, finalists and winners, visit the Broyles Award website.

Proceeds from the 2017 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide education, support, and resources to Alzheimer’s caregivers. You can follow The Broyles Foundation on Facebook and Twitter.

Riceland Foods served as the presenting sponsor of the 2017 Broyles Award. Riceland is the world’s largest miller and marketer of rice with its products sold across the nation and to more than 75 foreign destinations.

About the Broyles Award

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his almost two decades as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook and Twitter.

About the National College Football Awards Association

The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

About the Football Writers Association of America

The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team.