Volney Meece Scholarship goes to Danielle Hoover, daughter of FWAA member John Hoover

ffaw_redesignDanielle Hoover of the University of Tulsa was named the 19th winner of the Volney Meece Scholarship on Monday.

The scholarship is awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America and named for the late Volney Meece. Meece served 22 years as the FWAA’s Executive Director and was the organization’s President in 1971.

The scholarship is a $1,000 annual grant for four years. It is awarded to a deserving son or daughter of an FWAA member.

The 19-year-old Hoover is the daughter of long-time FWAA member and Tulsa World columnist John Hoover.

Danielle has compiled an impressive list of academic and extracurricular achievements at Tulsa Union High School and TU. She maintained a 4.86 weighted GPA while taking a strenuous load of advanced placement classes throughout high school. She achieved a 4.0 GPA her first semester of college and earned enough credits to be a sophomore heading into the spring semester.

A member of the National Honor Society, Danielle volunteered for community service in several areas while also working as a kennel technician for an animal hospital. She played competitive soccer well enough on the high school and club levels to be named a second-team All-American, all-region and all-state.

In her freshman season playing for the Golden Hurricane, Danielle was named the American Athletic Conference rookie of the week after scoring the game-winning goal against Southern Methodist and assisting on the game-winner three days later against the University of Houston.

Danielle is majoring in biology at TU with an emphasis on pre-veterinary medicine.

Past winners of the Volney Meece Scholarship
1997  Brett Goering  Topeka, Kan.
1998  Kelly Brooks  Denver, Colo.
1999  James Butz  Schaumberg, Ill.
2000  Sara Barnhart  Atlanta, Ga.
2001  Patrick Davis  Coventry, Conn.
2002  Jacqueline O’Toole  Gaithersburg, Md.
2003  Garrett Holtz  Denver, Colo.
2004  Katie Hersom  Oklahoma City, Okla.
2005  Katie Wieberg  Lawson, Mo.
2006  Kaylynn Monroe  Winter Park, Fla.
2007  Nate Kerkhoff  Overland Park, Kan.
2008  Jack Caywood  Lawrence, Kan.
2009  Haley Dodd  Overland Park, Kan.
2010  Donald Hunt  Philadelphia, Pa.
2011  Alaina Martens  Papillion, Neb.
2012  Emily Alford  Tupelo, Miss.
2013  Sarah Helsley  Edmond, Okla.
2014 Robert Abramson Palos Verde, Calif.