New Jersey student receives Volney Meece Scholarship

Alexandra Haley, a senior at Steinert High in Hamilton, N.J., was named the 23rd winner of the Volney Meece Scholarship on Monday.

Alexandra Haley

The scholarship is awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America and named for the late Volney Meece. Meece served 22 years as the FWAA’s executive director and was the organization’s president in 1971.

The scholarship is a $1,000 annual grant for four years. It is awarded to a deserving son or daughter of an FWAA member.

The 17-year-old Haley is the daughter of long-time FWAA member Craig Haley.

Alexandra has compiled an impressive list of academic and extracurricular achievements. She’s maintained a weighted 4.6 GPA and ranks 14th out of 333 students in her senior class while taking several advanced placement courses and also being involved in various extra extracurricular activities, including a standout athletic career.

At Steinert High School, Alexandra is a member of the National Honor Society, Key Club, President’s Education Awards and Scholar Athlete Award. She is a member of Student Government, Spanish Club and has volunteered for school charity drives and served as mentor for younger athletes.

A starter on the softball and basketball teams, Haley played catcher on Steinert’s state championship softball team. She plans to continue her academic and athletic careers at Susquehanna University.

Past winners of the Volney Meece Scholarship
1997  Brett Goering  Topeka, Kan.
1998  Kelly Brooks  Denver, Colo.
1999  James Butz  Schaumberg, Ill.
2000  Sara Barnhart  Atlanta, Ga.
2001  Patrick Davis  Coventry, Conn.
2002  Jacqueline O’Toole  Gaithersburg, Md.
2003  Garrett Holtz  Denver, Colo.
2004  Katie Hersom  Oklahoma City, Okla.
2005  Katie Wieberg  Lawson, Mo.
2006  Kaylynn Monroe  Winter Park, Fla.
2007  Nate Kerkhoff  Overland Park, Kan.
2008  Jack Caywood  Lawrence, Kan.
2009  Haley Dodd  Overland Park, Kan.
2010  Donald Hunt  Philadelphia, Pa.
2011  Alaina Martens  Papillion, Neb.
2012  Emily Alford  Tupelo, Miss.
2013  Sarah Helsley  Edmond, Okla.
2014 Robert Abramson Palos Verde, Calif.
2015 Danielle Hoover Tulsa, Okla.
2016 Dolen Helwagen Pataskala, Ohio
2017 Elizabeth Schroeder Norman, Okla.
2018 Mallory Rosetta Baton Rouge, La.