FWAA-NFF Super 16 Rankings, Week 14

Top four hold positions; Alabama falls to No. 8

Heading into the conference championship games, LSU remained the No. 1 team followed by Ohio State, Clemson and Georgia in the same order as last week. All four teams easily won their games during Rivalry Week. LSU claimed 29 first-place votes, Ohio State 16 and Clemson one.

Alabama’s close loss at Auburn cost the Crimson Tide three spots, dropping them to No. 8. The other losers among poll members were Minnesota (to Wisconsin) and Michigan (to Ohio State). Minnesota dropped to No. 14 after absorbing its second loss of the season, and Michigan dropped completely out of the poll after getting blitzed by Ohio State. Memphis entered the poll at No. 16.

Utah, Oklahoma and Baylor, in that order, moved into slots 5-7 after all posting impressive victories.

The SEC led all conferences with five teams in the poll, followed by the Big Ten with four. The Big 12 and Pac-12 had two each. The ACC, American and Independents had one each.

  • No. 1 LSU vs No. 4 Georgia in Atlanta;
  • No. 2 Ohio State vs. No. 10 Wisconsin in Indianapolis;
  • No. 3 Clemson vs. Virginia in Charlotte;
  • No. 5 Utah vs. No. 13 Oregon in Santa Clara (Friday);
  • No. 6 Oklahoma vs. No. 7 Baylor in Arlington, TX;
  • Cincinnati at No. 16 Memphis.

Week 14: games played through Nov. 30, 2019 

1. LSU (12-0) 717 29 1
2. Ohio State (12-0) 705 16 2
3. Clemson (12-0) 645 1 3
4. Georgia (11-1) 578 4
5. Utah (11-1) 543 6
6. Oklahoma (11-1) 513 7
7. Baylor (11-1) 399 10
8. Alabama (10-2) 374 5
9. Florida (10-2) 359 9
10. Wisconsin (10-2) 296 14
11. Auburn (9-3) 284 16
12. Penn State (10-2) 252 11
13. Oregon (10-2) 200 13
14. Minnesota (10-2) 142 8
15. Notre Dame (10-2) 127 15
16. Memphis (11-1) 54 N/A

OTHERS RECEIVING VOTES: Michigan (33), Boise State (15), Iowa (13), Cincinnati (4), Texas (3).

ABOUT THE FWAA-NFF SUPER 16 POLL: The FWAA-NFF Super 16 Poll was established at the conclusion of the 2013 season by long-time partners, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and the National Football Foundation (NFF). Voters rank the top 16 teams in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, and the results will be released every Monday of the 2019 season; the individual votes of all members will also be made public. The first regular season poll will be released on Tuesday, Sept. 3 (to account for Labor Day games), and the final poll will be released Sunday, Dec. 8. The pollsters consist of FWAA writers and College Football Hall of Famers who were selected to create a balanced-geographical perspective. The poll utilizes a program designed by Sports Systems to compile the rankings.

ABOUT THE FWAA: The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information visit www.footballwriters.com.

ABOUT THE NATIONAL FOOTBALL FOUNDATION & COLLEGE FOOTBALL HALL OF FAME: Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl “Red” Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. Learn more at www.footballfoundation.org and follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @NFFNetwork.