Texas Tech student Mallory Rosetta receives Meece Scholarship

Mallory Rosetta, a freshman at Texas Tech University, was named the 22tst winner of the Volney Meece Scholarship on Monday.

Mallory Rosetta

The scholarship is awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America and named for the late Volney Meece. Meece served 22 years as the FWAA’s executive director and was the organization’s president in 1971.

The scholarship is a $1,000 annual grant for four years. It is awarded to a deserving son or daughter of an FWAA member.

The 19-year-old Rosetta is the daughter of long-time FWAA member Randy Rosetta.

Mallory compiled an impressive list of academic and extracurricular achievements during high school at the Parkview Baptist School in Baton Rouge, LA. She maintained a 3.918 GPA while also being involved in various school and church activities.

She has continued that success during her first semester at Texas Tech. Majoring in public relations, she compiled a 3.6 GPA and was named a features writer for the student newspaper.

At Parkview Baptist, she was president of the honor society and drama club, secretary of the student council and a member of the Louisiana all-state choir three years. Mallory served as a ministry mentor for middle school students at Istrouma Baptist Church and volunteered at the Greater Baton Rouge Food Bank and American Heart Association.

Past winners of the Volney Meece Scholarship
1997  Brett Goering  Topeka, Kan.
1998  Kelly Brooks  Denver, Colo.
1999  James Butz  Schaumberg, Ill.
2000  Sara Barnhart  Atlanta, Ga.
2001  Patrick Davis  Coventry, Conn.
2002  Jacqueline O’Toole  Gaithersburg, Md.
2003  Garrett Holtz  Denver, Colo.
2004  Katie Hersom  Oklahoma City, Okla.
2005  Katie Wieberg  Lawson, Mo.
2006  Kaylynn Monroe  Winter Park, Fla.
2007  Nate Kerkhoff  Overland Park, Kan.
2008  Jack Caywood  Lawrence, Kan.
2009  Haley Dodd  Overland Park, Kan.
2010  Donald Hunt  Philadelphia, Pa.
2011  Alaina Martens  Papillion, Neb.
2012  Emily Alford  Tupelo, Miss.
2013  Sarah Helsley  Edmond, Okla.
2014 Robert Abramson Palos Verde, Calif.
2015 Danielle Hoover Tulsa, Okla.
2016 Dolen Helwagen Pataskala, Ohio
2017 Elizabeth Schroeder Norman, Okla.