1985 Outland winner Mike Ruth of BC to receive long-awaited Trophy in January

Boston College nose guard Mike Ruth, the 1985 Outland Trophy recipient, will receive his long-awaited Outland Trophy on Wednesday Jan. 9, 2019 at the Greater Omaha Sports Committee’s Awards Banquet sponsored by Werner Enterprises.

The 73rd Annual Outland Trophy, presented by the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID), also will be handed off to the yet-to-be-determined 2018 recipient during the banquet at the DoubleTree Omaha Downtown. The winner of the Outland Trophy, as determined by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), will be announced on Thursday Dec. 6 on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

The three finalists for the 2018 Outland Trophy are, in alphabetical order: Clemson DT Christian Wilkins, Alabama OT Jonah Williams and Alabama NG Quinnen Williams.

Ruth, 54, will receive his trophy as the top interior lineman in college football during the 1985 season from the Rotary Club of Omaha-Downtown. Since the late 1990s, Downtown Rotary has graciously presented a former Outland Trophy recipient his actual trophy. The FWAA did not give out an Outland Trophy until 1988, with previous winners receiving, in many cases, only a plaque.

A consensus first-team All-America as a senior captain, Ruth led the Eagles to three bowl games, including a victory in the 1985 Cotton Bowl against Houston. Boston College finished the 1984 season ranked No 5 nationally. A three-time All-East and All-ECAC selection, Ruth led the Eagles to back-to-back Lambert Trophies as the best FBS team in the East in 1983 and 1984.

Ruth amassed 344 career tackles, 29 sacks, seven forced fumbles and three fumble recoveries during his career. In 1986, he received Boston College’s highest athletic honor when he was named Eagle of the Year. A teammate of College Football Hall of Famer Doug Flutie, Ruth is a member of Boston College’s Varsity Club Hall of Fame. His No. 68 jersey was retired by Boston College.

Mike Ruth

Ruth was drafted in the second round of the 1986 NFL Draft by the New England Patriots and spent two seasons with the franchise. He also played two seasons with the Barcelona Dragons in the World League of American Football. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2017.

After his football career, Ruth worked in insurance for more than a decade and earned a master’s in education from Harvard University. He has served as president of Mike Ruth Consulting since 2003. He currently teaches and coaches at Everett High School in Massachusetts.

Besides the two Outland Trophies, the Tom Osborne Legacy Award will be presented to current Ohio University Coach Frank Solich, who is a former player, assistant coach and head coach for Nebraska. The individual recipients of three 2018 Nebraska football awards will also be recognized.

For more information about tickets and sponsor opportunities for either the reception or the awards banquet please go to https://showofficeonline.com/OTADHOME/

The Outland Trophy is the third-oldest major college football award. Created in 1946 when Dr. John Outland presented the FWAA with a financial contribution to initiate the award, the Outland Trophy has been given to the best interior lineman in college football ever since. Dr. Outland, an All-American at the University of Pennsylvania in the late 1890s, eventually took up practice in Kansas City, Mo. An avid outdoorsman, Dr. Outland believed linemen did not get the credit they deserved and wanted an award to recognize them.

The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

About the Football Writers Association of America
Founded in 1941, the non-profit Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) consists of 1,300 members, including journalists, broadcasters, publicists and key executives in all areas of college football. Led by current President Stefanie Loh of the Seattle Times, longtime Executive Director Steve Richardson and a board of veteran journalists, the association continues to grow and work to help college football prosper at all levels. Visit footballwriters.com for more information about the FWAA and its award programs.

About the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases
Founded in 1973, the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) is a non-profit, tax-exempt 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to educating the public and healthcare professionals about the burden, causes, prevention and treatment of infectious diseases across the lifespan. Visit nfid.org for more information. The NFID has partnered with the FWAA and Outland Trophy on behalf of the #FightFlu public awareness campaign to remind everyone 6 months and older to get an annual flu vaccine.

About the Greater Omaha Sports Committee

Founded in 1977, the GOSC is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, consisting of more than 1,100 men and women from the City of Omaha, the State of Nebraska, and others. The membership serves to communicate, develop, initiate and promote sports activities in the Greater Omaha sports area. In addition to the Outland Trophy Award Dinner, the Greater Omaha Sports Committee promotes high school, college, and professional sports in the Greater Omaha area and the Midwest.

About Werner Enterprises, Inc.

Founded in 1956, Werner Enterprises is a premier transportation and logistics company, with coverage throughout the world. Werner maintains its global headquarters in Omaha and is among the five largest truckload carriers in the United States, with a diversified portfolio of transportation services that includes dedicated; medium-to-long-haul, regional and expedited van; and temperature-controlled. The Werner Logistics portfolio includes truck brokerage, freight management, intermodal, international and final mile services. International services are provided through Werner’s domestic and global subsidiary companies and include ocean, air and ground transportation; freight forwarding; and customs brokerage.