OU’s Brown nominated for Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award

Sophomore cornerback plays despite family loss

DALLAS   – Oklahoma’s Tre Brown is this week’s nominee for the 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award. Brown, a sophomore cornerback, lost his mother Oct. 14 but has not missed a game for the Sooners.

Tre Brown

“It was just powerful,” Oklahoma coach Lincoln Riley said Oct. 22, two days after Brown starred in a win over TCU. “I still really don’t know how the kid did it; to come play at the level he did. He played extremely well. Credit to him, the inner strength he has, the support system around him; his family, friends, teammates here, family here. I think a lot of people lifted him up. And he lifted a lot of us up, too, even in a hard time for him. Having him back was special.”

Brown’s mother, Beverly Brewer, died on Oct. 14. Her funeral was three days later in Tulsa, Okla., where several of Brown’s Sooner teammates served as pallbearers.

Brown then made his first start of the season Oct. 20 in a 52-27 win over the Horned Frogs, tallying four tackles and two pass breakups, which earned him a game ball from Riley in the locker room. He started at corner again in this past Saturday’s 51-14 win over Kansas State, and he returned the game’s opening kickoff 27 yards.

Brown, a 5-foot-10, 182-pounder from Tulsa, leads the Sooners with six pass breakups this season. He has 25 total tackles and three tackles for loss.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Wisconsin safety D’Cota Dixon (2017) Pittsburgh running back James Conner (2016), Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa’s Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy’s Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson’s Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis’ Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State’s Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo’s William Bratton (2002).

About the Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 29, 2018. For more information on the 2018-19 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to orangebowl.org. Follow Orange Bowl: @OrangeBowl, Facebook and Instagram.

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com.

2018 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees
Sept. 12: John Schlarman, Kentucky | High-resolution headshot
Sept. 19: Nic Weishar, Notre Dame | High-resolution headshot
Sept. 26: Rex Culpepper, Syracuse | High-resolution headshot
Oct. 3: Caleb Farley, Virginia Tech | High-resolution headshot
Oct. 10: Antwan Dixon, Kent State | High-resolution headshot
Oct. 17: Marquez Stevenson, Houston | High-resolution headshot
Oct. 24: Janarius Robinson, Florida State | High-resolution headshot
Oct. 31: Tre Brown, Oklahoma | High-resolution headshot

Related link:
Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award