Florida State’s Robinson nominated for Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award

Sophomore defensive end lost childhood home in hurricane

DALLAS — Florida State’s Janarius Robinson is this week’s nominee for the 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award. Robinson, a redshirt sophomore defensive end, starred for the Seminoles in their win Saturday over Wake Forest, his first game back after losing his childhood home to Hurricane Michael.

Janarius Robinson

“It’s been better getting back to practice after going through what I’ve been going through for the last week,” Robinson said last week, according to The Athletic. “It’s a time for me to get my mind away and off of the things that have happened. I come out here, get my mind off of it and get back to work with my brothers.”

Robinson’s hometown of Panama City, Fla., was one of the hardest-hit areas of Hurricane Michael. His family had evacuated to Georgia beforehand, and when they returned Friday, the house – which was originally owned by Robinson’s grandmother – was gone.

The 6-foot-5, 259-pound Robinson returned to practice last Tuesday and on Saturday notched a career-best six tackles, including one sack, in the Seminoles’ 38-17 win over the Demon Deacons.

A GoFundMe page was created with NCAA approval to help the Robinsons, with a goal of raising $75,000. As of Oct. 22, it has raised more than $107,000.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award are Wisconsin safety D’Cota Dixon (2017) Pittsburgh running back James Conner (2016), Miami offensive lineman Hunter Knighton (2015), Duke offensive lineman Laken Tomlinson (2014), San Jose State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa’s Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy’s Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson’s Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis’ Haracio Colen (2004), San Jose State’s Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo’s William Bratton (2002).

About the Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 29, 2018. For more information on the 2018-19 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to orangebowl.org. Follow Orange Bowl: @OrangeBowl, Facebook and Instagram.

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com.

2018 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees
Sept. 12: John Schlarman, Kentucky | High-resolution headshot
Sept. 19: Nic Weishar, Notre Dame | High-resolution headshot
Sept. 26: Rex Culpepper, Syracuse | High-resolution headshot
Oct. 3: Caleb Farley, Virginia Tech | High-resolution headshot
Oct. 10: Antwan Dixon, Kent State | High-resolution headshot
Oct. 17: Marquez Stevenson, Houston | High-resolution headshot
Oct. 24: Janarius Robinson, Florida State | High-resolution headshot

Related link:
Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award