California youth named winner of Volney Meece Scholarship 1

Robert Abrahamson, a senior at Chadwick Prep School in Palos Verdes, Calif., was named the 18th winner of the Volney Meece Scholarship on Tuesday.

The scholarship is awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America and is named for the late Volney Meece. Meece served 22 years as the FWAA’s executive director and was the organization’s president in 1971.

The scholarship is a $1,000 annual grant for four years. It is awarded to a deserving son or daughter of an FWAA member.

The 18-year-old Abrahamson is the son of long-time FWAA member Alan Abrahamson.

Robert has compiled an impressive list of academic achievements and extracurricular activities. A National Merit finalist who scored a perfect 2400 SAT score on his first attempt, Robert has maintained a 4.44 weighted GPA while taking a strenuous load of advanced placement classes throughout his high school career.

A member of the National Honor Society, he was also elected to the National Chinese Honor Society, which is awarded for outstanding character and GPA in a foreign language. Robert is the only person in the history of his school to attain an EiHA Research Internship at USC, while also completing three internships at UCLA in science and mathematics.

In addition to his superb work in the class room, Robert has been a member of Chadwick’s golf and tennis teams, has been an officer in the student and honor councils, president of the math team and Yearbook Editor. He has also provided community service work for Habitat for Humanity and Los Hermanos Gris, where he received the Silver Presidential Service Award.

Robert has been admitted early to the California Institute of Technology, and is waiting to hear back from several other colleges. He intends to study biological engineering, mathematics and computer science.
Past winners of the Volney Meece Scholarship
1997  Brett Goering  Topeka, Kan.
1998  Kelly Brooks  Denver, Colo.
1999  James Butz  Schaumberg, Ill.
2000  Sara Barnhart  Atlanta, Ga.
2001  Patrick Davis  Coventry, Conn.
2002  Jacqueline O’Toole  Gaithersburg, Md.
2003  Garrett Holtz  Denver, Colo.
2004  Katie Hersom  Oklahoma City, Okla.
2005  Katie Wieberg  Lawson, Mo.
2006  Kaylynn Monroe  Winter Park, Fla.
2007  Nate Kerkhoff  Overland Park, Kan.
2008  Jack Caywood  Lawrence, Kan.
2009  Haley Dodd  Overland Park, Kan.
2010  Donald Hunt  Philadelphia, Pa.
2011  Alaina Martens  Papillion, Neb.
2012  Emily Alford  Tupelo, Miss.
2013  Sarah Helsley  Edmond, Okla.

One comment

Comments are closed.