Volney Meece Scholarship goes to Oklahoma youth

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. — Sarah Helsley, a senior at Edmond Santa Fe High School in Edmond, Okla., was named as the 17th winner of the Volney Meece Scholarship.

The scholarship is awarded annually by the Football Writers Association of America and named for the late Volney Meece. Meece served 22 years as the FWAA’s executive director and was the organization’s president in 1971. The announcement came at the FWAA’s annual awards breakfast.

The scholarship is a $1,000 annual grant for four years. It is awarded to a deserving son or daughter of an FWAA member.

The 17-year-old Helsley is the daughter of long-time FWAA member John Helsley of The Oklahoman in Oklahoma City.

Sarah has compiled an impressive list of academic achievements and extracurricular activities. A national merit semifinalist who ranks in the top two percent of her senior class, she has maintained a perfect 4.0 grade point average (4.214 weighted) while taking a strenuous load of advanced placement classes throughout her high school career.

A member of both the National Honor Society and the Pablo Neruda chapter of the Spanish Honor Society, Sarah has been named an AP Scholar with Distinction, received the Academic Excellence Award every year of high school, was nominated for Academic All-State and selected unanimously by her peers in the Santa Fe senior class as the “Genius of our Generation.”

In addition to her superb work in the classroom, Sarah is an editor for the student newspaper and costume designer for the drama department. She’s also heavily involved in a variety of activities outside of school. She has volunteered at the University of Oklahoma Children’s Hospital, leads a confirmation class at her church and works 20-25 hours a week at her part-time job with the local AMC Theater.

Scheduled to graduate in May, Sarah plans to attend the University of Oklahoma.

Past   winners of the Volney Meece Scholarship

1997  Brett Goering  Topeka, Kan.
1998  Kelly Brooks  Denver, Colo.
1999  James Butz  Schaumberg, Ill.
2000  Sara Barnhart  Atlanta, Ga.
2001  Patrick Davis  Coventry, Conn.
2002  Jacqueline O’Toole  Gaithersburg, Md.
2003  Garrett Holtz  Denver, Colo.
2004  Katie Hersom  Oklahoma City, Okla.
2005  Katie Wieberg  Lawson, Mo.
2006  Kaylynn Monroe  Winter Park, Fla.
2007  Nate Kerkhoff  Overland Park, Kan.
2008  Jack Caywood  Lawrence, Kan.
2009  Haley Dodd  Overland Park, Kan.
2010  Donald Hunt  Philadelphia, Pa.
2011  Alaina Martens  Papillion, Neb.
2012  Emily Alford  Tupelo, Miss.