Best Writing Contest Reply

Winners of the 2013 FWAA Best Writer Contest. Click on links below to read the first-place stories.


First place — Ivan Maisel,

Second place — Andrea Adelson,

Third place — Glenn Guilbeau, Gannett Louisiana Newspapers

Honorable mention — Matt Fortuna,; George Schroeder, USA Today; Greg Barnes,


First place — Adam Lucas, Tar Heel Monthly

Second place — Sanjay Kirpalani, Bleacher Report

Third place — Dave Guffey,

Honorable mention — Matt Hayes, Sporting News; Kevin Armstrong, New York Daily News


First place — Ben Frederickson, Casper Star-Tribune

Second place — David Jones, Harrisburg Patriot-News

Third place — Gentry Estes,

Honorable mention — Aaron Brenner, Columbus Ledger-Enquirer; Peter Kerasotis,; George Schroeder, The Register-Guard; Pete Thamel,


First place — Matt Hayes, Sporting News

Second place — Curtis Eichelberger and Charles Babcock, Bloomberg News

Third place — Scott Dochterman, Cedar Rapids Gazette

Honorable mention — Aaron Brenner, Columbus Ledger-Enquirer; Dennis Dodd,; Ryan McGee, ESPN The Magazine

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s