2015 Outland Trophy watch list announced

ffaw_redesignDALLAS — The Southeastern Conference led all conferences with 16 players on the 84-man Outland Trophy Watch List released by the Football Writers Association of America. The so-called FBS “Power Conferences” accounted for 61 of the players on the annual list.

Following the SEC, the Pac-12 checked in with 14 players, the Big Ten with 12, the Big 12 with 11 and the ACC with eight.   All 10 FBS Conferences are represented on the list as were five players combined from independents Notre Dame and BYU. There is one returning interior lineman from the FWAA’s 2014 All-America team, Baylor’s senior offensive tackle Spencer Drango.

The Outland Trophy

The Outland Trophy

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Nov. 19. Five days later three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 70th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 10 for the first time from the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 14, 2016 in Omaha, Nebraska. This year, Maryland’s Randy White, the 1975 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award.



Jack Allen, Michigan State

Austin Blythe, Iowa

Evan Boehm, Missouri

J.T. Boyd, East Carolina

Jake Brendel, UCLA

Ty Darlington, Oklahoma

Marcus Henry, Boise State

Joey Hunt, TCU

Nick Kelly, Arizona State

Ryan Kelly, Alabama

Nick Martin, Notre Dame

Andrew Ness, Northern Illinois

Tyler Orlosky, West Virginia

Matt Skura, Duke

Matt Sparks, UMass

Max Tuerk, USC

Dan Voltz, Wisconsin


Vadal Alexander, LSU

Chris Borrayo, California

Parker Ehinger, Cincinnati

Pat Elflein, Ohio State

Dan Feeney, Indiana

Joshua Garnett, Stanford

Alex Kozan, Auburn

Jimmy Kristof, Western Michigan

Greg Pyke, Georgia

Isaac Seumalo, Oregon State

Andrew Reue, Rice

Chris Taylor, Tulane

Wyatt Teller, Virginia Tech

Spencer Tretola, Arkansas

Landon Turner, North Carolina

Christian Westerman, Arizona State


Adrian Bellard, Texas State

Le’Raven Clark, Texas Tech

Jack Conklin, Michigan State

Austin Corbett, Nevada

Joe Dahl, Washington State

Taylor Decker, Ohio State

Spencer Drango, Baylor

Ike Harris, East Carolina

Germain Ifedi, Texas A&M

Roderick Johnson, Florida State

Tyler Johnstone, Oregon

Denver Kirkland, Arkansas

Keith Lumpkin, Rutgers

Cam Robinson, Alabama

Ryker Mathews, BYU

Kyle Murphy, Stanford

Rees Odhiambo, Boise State

Brandon Shell, South Carolina

Garrett Stafford, Tulsa

Ronnie Stanley, Notre Dame

Freddie Tagaloa, Arizona

Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss

Halapoulivaati Vaitai, TCU

Clint Van Horn, Marshall

Cody Whitehair, Kansas State

Avery Young, Auburn


Andrew Billings, Baylor

Beau Blackshear, Baylor

Vernon Butler, Louisiana Tech

Kenny Clark, UCLA

Maliek Collins, Nebraska

Sheldon Day, Notre Dame

Adam Gotsis, Georgia Tech

Darius Hamilton, Rutgers

Chris Jones, Mississippi State

Gerrand Johnson, Louisiana-Monroe

Luther Maddy, Virginia Tech

Corey Marshall, Virginia Tech

Thomas Niles, Central Florida

Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss

Joe Ostman, Central Michigan

Davion Pierson, TCU

Jarran Reed, Alabama

Hassan Ridgeway, Texas

A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama

Travis Tuiloma, BYU

Eddie Vanderdoes, UCLA

Adolphus Washington, Ohio State

Antwaun Woods, USC

Connor Wujciak, Boston College

Anthony Zettel, Penn State

By conference (84): SEC (16), Pac-12 (14), Big Ten (12), Big 12 (11), ACC (8), American (6), Independents (5), Mid-American (4), Mountain West (3), C-USA (3) and Sun Belt (2).

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tigerfwaa@gmail.com.

The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit http://www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.

Beginning in 2015, The Home Depot College Football Awards will have a new home at the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta. Airing live on ESPN on December 10, 2015, college football’s brightest stars will be honored for their performance on and off the field. The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over an 11-day period this month. Sixteen of the association’s 22 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2015 preseason watch list calendar:

Tues., July 7: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Wed., July 8: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Thurs., July 9: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Fri., July 10: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Mon., July 13: Jim Thorpe Award

Tues., July 14: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Wed., July 15: Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy

Thurs, July 16: Davey O’Brien Award / Doak Walker Award

Fri., July 17: Walter Camp Award